Taissa Farmiga

Taissa Farmiga, Born in August 1994 in New Jersey to Ukrainian parents, Taissa Farmiga is the youngest of seven children, with a significant age gap of 21 years between her and her actress sister Vera Farmiga. Unlike her elder sister, Taissa initially had no aspirations to become an actress. She contemplated a career in accounting and studied sign language alongside her academic pursuits.
At the age of 16, Taissa made her acting debut in Vera's directorial debut "Higher Ground," where she not only played the lead role but also convinced her sister to join the cast. The film premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, garnering critical acclaim for Taissa's performance.
Encouraged by her debut, Taissa continued her acting career. In 2011, she gained prominence as Violet Harmon in the first season of "American Horror Story" (Murder House), a role that showcased her innocent appearance against the series' eerie backdrop. She went on to appear in seasons 3 (Coven) and 8 (Apocalypse) of the anthology series, portraying diverse characters.
Expanding her horizons, Taissa was selected by Sofia Coppola for "The Bling Ring" (2013), which premiered at the Cannes Film Festival. She further appeared in various films, including "Mindscape," "Middleton," "The Final Girls," "6 Years," "Rules Don't Apply," and "In a Valley of Violence," demonstrating her versatility across genres.
In 2017, Taissa starred as Sister Irene in "The Nun," a spin-off of "The Conjuring" series, portraying a nun with premonitions investigating supernatural events in Romania. Her ethereal presence contrasted sharply with the film's chilling atmosphere, enhancing the horror elements. She reprised her role in "The Nun: The Curse of Saint Lucia" in 2023.
Additionally, Taissa has appeared in Clint Eastwood's "The Mule," the horror anthology series "50 States of Fright," "John's World," and the costume drama series "The Gilded Age," created by the creator of "Downton Abbey."



The Nun (2018)

- Sister Irene

The Nun II (2023)

- Sister Irene